krotfrog.blogg.se

A taxi driver korean film analysis
A taxi driver korean film analysis












a taxi driver korean film analysis a taxi driver korean film analysis

“On every street there’s a nobody who dreams of being somebody. I bought this poster and read the tagline every morning waking up: Not only did I come to appreciate its mastery as a piece of film making on every level and a performance that was note perfect from Robert De-Niro, to me the film was very personal – an evocation of my deep sense of not belonging, of living a life without meaning, of not being like others, of being broken and alone. It was my identification with the main character Travis Bickle that hit home in a transformative way, the way the film articulated his loneliness, disillusionment, alienation, and disgust with the outside world was so powerful to me. It was near the beginning of this newfound passion, curiosity and desire to see the established greats that I picked out the Taxi Driver DVD that my Dad had recently bought (his collection was relatively small but almost exclusively classics.) I was blown away. I remember well the beginning of this voyage of discovery with so many great and revered films that I was yet to see, a feeling of excitement and possibility that is inevitably unsustainable, waning under the weight of years of ferociously devouring the canon. I had dropped out of college and was working for minimum wage and it was during this time that my love of film flourished and became one of the most important things in my life. If you had asked me what my favourite film was at any point since I was around 18 I would have instantly answered Taxi Driver (I may have cost myself a temp job at Odeon by putting it down as the film to have on my name badge).














A taxi driver korean film analysis